Blogging from the air …

IMG_8214

The view from my father’s 19th floor apartment in Sao Paulo.

At the moment I am in a TAM Airline Airbus 320, approximately 29,000 feet above the ground. I am obviously not live-blogging, and when you read this I will be happily back on the ground.

This is now my second flight on this winter break trip to Brazil. I have spent the last five days caught up in the hustle-and-bustle of the city of Sao Paulo, Sao Paulo. In my own fairy-tale world I was the Rapunzel of my father’s 21-story apartment building, waking up from my tower on the 19th floor and having to face the tantalizingly gorgeous view lying outside my window.

IMG_8200

My lunch at the restaurant inside MASP.

Lucky for me I am not in a fairy-tale and I was allowed to leave the 19th floor and explore the city. My arrival was graced with a cultured day in the fervor of Sao Paulo’s downtown. My father and I made a trip to MASP, Museu de Artes de Sao Paulo (Art Museum of Sao Paulo) and to our surprise – admission was free. What better way to spread the intrinsic value of artistic expression than to grant free admission to an awesome art museum once a week? Although I am not much of an expert on the arts, I know that the names Van Gogh and Claude Monet carry quite a prestigious stigma, so when I came across a piece of each I couldn’t help but be as excited as the artsy-est of artists.

As we left the museum we passed by a small theatre that was about to show a film that my father wanted to watch.

That’s what is so great about the city – the spontaneity of your days is unpredictable – you never know what movie might be playing around the corner.

When we bought our tickets we actually chose our seats beforehand – which I thought was pretty cool. The film, “Infancia Clandestina,” turned out to be an Argentinian foreign film; the film was in Spanish with Portuguese subtitles. I’ve never given much thought to foreign films, but I actually enjoyed this one quite a bit. Although I am not fluent in Spanish I could mostly understand what was being said on screen, and the idea dawned on me that this is how I will perfect my Spanish, by watching more of these films. Once I tackle that language barrier I have decided to try out the same method with Italian – wish me luck.

UPDATE: approximately 20 minutes left for my flight … where did the time go? I should do this more often, write while I’m flying – forget where I really am.

Leave a comment

Filed under Welcome/Bem Vindo

Leave a Reply

